Let Us Chat Over a Cup of Coffee

Oh my dear friend, how I wish we could sit together for a nice cup of coffee.

What a delight it would be to sit across from You in such a cozy atmosphere. To look deep into Your full of wonder eyes filled with all of life’s mysteries. I know You probably don’t even drink coffee, not that you need it. That wouldn’t even be the point of our coffee date. Many a friends I have taken for coffee runs. Many fierce, heartbreaking, inspiring, and puzzling conversations I have had over coffee with countless friends. But all of them would transform to be pointless, if I could trade them all to have one conversation over coffee with You.

It’s not to say that we don’t ever speak as it is. In fact, we usually spend every day together in some way. I think about You constantly and You are the last person I talk to every night. I love You so much. I use the word “best friend” pretty loosely, but You truly are my very best friend. No one compares to you.

Sometimes I am a bad friend to You. I forget to talk to You or spend time with You. I trust in myself and wallow in worries before coming to You with my problems. Sometimes I am so scared to admit the things I have done wrong and so ashamed. You promised me You would never leave me or condemn me but yet I feel that this time I may have truly gone too far. But deep in my heart, I know that simply isn’t true. You constantly remain faithful in Your promises. I feel at peace when I finally come to You. You always bring me so much joy, my best memories are truly with You. You’ve gifted me beyond measure, there is no way that I would ever be able to repay You. I regret to say that I am not the best friend to You that You are to me.

I know that I have not been the best friend lately. I know I have distanced myself. I am so sorry. But I could really use a friend right now. Even though I don’t deserve it. You see, I have some deep troubles right now. Some answers, I need help. I sit and think about it all day long. I paint a smile on my face every day to mask my true colors. But it’s been raining for the past few weeks and the rain is starting to wash away the paint. People are starting to see the damage hidden underneath. I don’t really know what to do. You have always given me the best advice before, please help me once more.

Oh how I wish to sit You down over some coffee at my favorite coffee shop downtown. To be in Your presence is enough to make me feel at ease. This is what I assume the encounter would go like. I’d look deep into Your eyes and you would look back so knowingly. You would look at me and already know what is on my mind before I even utter a word. I’d start to cry and say, “I just don’t know what to do anymore!”

You would wipe away my tears and say, “Don’t think I’ve been away. I’ve heard your cries in the deep of night. I whispered sweet melodies into your ear and rocked you to sleep.”

I would ask you all the questions that have been troubling me. Get some things off my chest. Similar to what I do with my other friends, but with You, I just know that You would be the most understanding. You would tell me what to do. You would give me the answers I so desire.

But although I would love nothing more to go on a coffee date with You, I know there is a reason I can’t physically do that. But I know that I can still spend time with You any hour of the day and  that You will always be there for me.

I really hope our relationship grows stronger through the years and we overcome all obstacles. I can’t wait until the day I can truly be fully in Your presence. Thank You for being my best friend and truly loving me unconditionally. I love You so much.

[NOTE: This blog post is a little different. I spend a lot of time in coffee shops with my friends and trying to get work done. Life is full of mystery and confusion and many times I think to myself, man I wish I could just have Jesus right in front of me so that I could ask him some questions and get some concrete answers on how to live my life! But it’s important to remember that He is always with us and He does answer our prayers in many different ways.]

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for an assurance about what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1

Angie

 

 

Leave a Reply

